Khmelnitsky region is rich in architectural, cultural and natural attractions. And still there is one of our enterprises — “Agro-Dniester” in Novousinsk district.
The Old City in Kamenetz-Podolsky
Kamenetz-Podolsky is famous for its castle, but besides it there is something to see. The Old City was recognized as one of the Seven Wonders of Ukraine. There are about 200 architectural monuments, 115 of which are of national importance. The ancient streets are cozy, so it’s just a pleasure to walk.
Landscapes of Bakota
“Podolsky Tovtry” is the largest national natural park in Ukraine its area is more than 2.6 thousand km2. One of the most beautiful places is on the Dniester cliff. This territory is known for the remains of the Bakotsky cave monastery and picturesque landscapes.
Today, on the mountain above the Dniester, only the northern tower of the former castle rises. There are remains of two more towers and you can see the walls. But the main feature of the ruins is the view that opens for many kilometers: the valley of the Dniester, Zhvanets and Zbruch rivers.
The former castle was built in the XV century, after two centuries it got seriously damaged, and then fell into decay. In the Soviet times, the ruins were actively dismantled and used as building materials.
Fish Paradise in Letychiv
This settlement is known for its fish market. This brings fish from all over Ukraine, so sometimes you can hear that Letychiv has the most famous fish market in the country. However, not only this can boast the city – there are also other attractions: the tomb of Karmalyuk and the remains of the fortress, which was built by Jan Potocki in the XV century.
The town of Medzhibozh is in the Letychiv district. The local castle is one of the largest and oldest fortifications in our country. The first fortifications appeared here in the XIII century, but they were destroyed by the Mongols. In 1362, the princes Koriatovichi began the construction of the fortress. The construction was repeatedly completed and rebuilt until it acquired a modern look in the 18th century.
The palace and park ensemble “Samchiki”
The history of the palace and park ensemble “Samchiki” began at the beginning of the XVIII century, when Jan Samuel Choetsky built his own estate on the banks of the Sluch. Subsequently, this land was transferred to the ownership of the Gaisin elder Peter the Great, who creates a unique park and builds a palace. Designing and construction involved Polish and Irish architects, and the sculptor from Italy created and decorated the front portal.
In the park area of 16.6 hectares has about 170 species of trees and shrubs. The ensemble is located in the Starokonstantinovsky district, and today there is a museum-estate. You can get here by taxi from the district center or on your own car – buses run rarely, and 15 kilometers are a considerable distance for walking.
Starokonstantinov also has its own castle. It was built at the end of the XVI century by princes Ostrozhsky. The Black Way passed through the city, and to defend against the Tatar attack it was decided to erect defensive fortifications. In 1919 Petlyura army significantly damaged the castle, until now it remains undeveloped. Despite this, in Starokonstantinov there is something to see: a well-preserved part of the palace, the tower, the Trinity Church, the bell tower and the entrance gate. Under the castle there are cellars that lead to the river.
Pokrovskaya Church in Sutkovci
This unique defense structure is located in the Yarmolynets district. It combines a fortification building and a temple. Originally it was a fortress, which in 1476 was rebuilt for a church, and in the XVI century painted with frescoes. In Soviet times, the temple was closed twice, and it was inaccessible to believers until the late 80’s. In the early 90’s attempts to restore the church on its own led to the fact that unprofessional repairs were made and most of the ancient frescoes were lost. In the 2000s, a professional restoration was carried out. Today it is an active temple.
Pearl of Sataniv of the Khmelnitsky region
Sataniv also has stone ruins of the castle. But this town is known not only for them. There is also its own Pearl — a park of national importance with an area of 22 hectares, adjacent to the Zbruch River. About 400 species of trees and shrubs, various herbal plants, three springs of mineral water and ancient ruins of the fortress can all be seen in the Satan’s monument of landscape art.
City of palaces that have fallen into decay
Izyaslav is a district center, which has a significant tourist potential. But not only is this potential not being used, on the contrary – everything is done here so that visitors don’t go to the city. One of the most ancient landmarks of the city is the Church of the Ascension – it is in terrible condition, and locals dismantle it for building materials. There is similar situation with the palace of princes Sangushko.
The church of St. Michael and the Bernardine monastery are better preserved, but there is now a prison – you will not come close to it. The best situation with the missionary’s Church is that it is well preserved, and is available for viewing.
The Struve geodetic arc isn’t a monument of architecture or a picturesque area it is a cross-border object that is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. In 1816-1865, a network of 265 triangulation points was laid. It had a length of more than 2820 kilometers and was created to determine the shape and size of the planet Earth. In Ukraine there are about 50 such points, of which only four points have been found and restored. Three of them are located in the Khmelnitsky region: near the villages Ekaterinovka, Gvardeiskoye and Baranovka.